Sarah Turner

July 16, 2009

turner samplerAfter I posted my story about the Sarah Turner sampler I visited, via email, with the folks at the Kentucky Historical Society. They informed me that the Turner sampler is still in the Society’s collections but not currently on display. Unfortunately they don’t know when it will next be displayed.

On a brighter note, I did learn more information about Sarah Turner. According to historical society records, she was born on October 11, 1811 and died in February of 1853. Turner was born in Tennessee to a Baptist preacher who moved his family to Kentucky in 1809. When Turner died she was buried in the Turner family cemetery in Simpson County, Kentucky.

The only information known about the sampler itself is that it was “woven” by Turner and her mother and, if I’ve done the math correctly, she was 16 years old when she stitched it .

Comments are closed.

