Loara’s Pansy-Stitching Project #1

August 5, 2009

blog pictures 002During one of my trips to Pilgrim Hall Museum I bought a needlework kit. I could have purchased the kit to recreate Loara Standish’s sampler but knew better than to do this. With luck I would have had it finished in time for the 400th anniversary of the Pilgrim landing in Plymouth…in 2020!! Instead I bought the “Loara’s Pansy” kit, an adaptation of the pansy motif in Loara’s sampler.

The design is small, which I like and is stitched on 35 count linen, which I like not so much. Only three stitches are used–back, cross and running. Even though this is not the complete sampler, the adaptation is deemed a Pilgrim Society reproduction. It was created by The Examplarery Sampler Collection, a company that specializes in historical needlework reproduction. My plan is to post regular updates of my progress along with any glitches I might encounter along the way.

Let’s hope I complete it long before 2020!!

3 Responses to “Loara’s Pansy-Stitching Project #1”

  1. Remy said

    This looks like a beautiful project. I love pansies in life and on linen.

    Remy

  2. Leslee said

    I love the photo! Can’t wait to see the finished piece!

Comments are closed.

