World War I Silk Postcards

November 10, 2009

Veteran’s Day, celebrated every November 11, is the anniversary of the end of World War I; but has since evolved into a day to ww1 postcardhonor all those who have served our country. Popular during World War I were the embroidered silk postcards soldiers sent home to their loved ones. According to The Encyclopedia of Ephemera, published in 2000, embroidered silk postcards were first recorded as a trade school product in Austria in 1903. They also appeared as a publisher’s greeting in Germany in 1906. It was during World War I that the cards became a common form of greeting between soldiers and their families.

A World War I postcard website Propaganda Postcards of the Great War(http://www.ww1-propagands-cards.com) reports that these cards were generally hand embroidered on strips of silk mesh by French and Belgian women refugees. They worked in their homes and refugee camps then sent the finished strips, which held as many as 25 cards, to factories for cutting and mounting on to postcards.

Both sources agree that the postcards lost popularity after World War I despite a machine embroidered version manufactured during World War II.

Set political opinions aside for just a moment and join me tomorrow in thanking at least one veteran.

Comments are closed.

