Colin’s Sampler

February 21, 2010

Very soon I will become a great-aunt. What makes this extra special is that my sister will become a grandmother for the first time! As I mentioned in an earlier post, my next stitching project is a sampler to commemorate the birth of this little guy. I love doing baby samplers and have found that, no matter the age of the new parents, they all appreciate the sentiment. For Colin I have chosen a design from Heart in Hand. One of the things that drew me to it is the variety of stitches including Williamsburg, Montenegrin and Crossed Corner Cushion. 

The design model was stitched on 32 count Summer Khaki Belfast linen using various colors of Weeks Dye Works and Gentle Arts Sampler threads. I chose, instead, to stitch on 22 count Dusty Blue Vienna linen with one color of Gentle Arts Sampler thread; Straw Bonnet from their Simply Shaker range of colors.  This design is reminiscent of an antique band sampler but without so many of those bands…simple  and contemporary but still with a touch of history. Check back often for updates.

2 Responses to “Colin’s Sampler”

  1. Leslee Moore said

    I love the color combination. Can’t wait to see the finished sampler!

Comments are closed.

